By: FOD Wire
Los Angeles, CA ‘ On July 1, a new law requiring California drivers to use a hands-free device when making calls on cell phones takes effect. Unfortunately, vanity license plates such as “BORN2ACT ‘ and “TRYRICH ‘ will still be legal.
California driver Monica Purdy doesn’t have a problem with the new cell phone law but continues to be disturbed by egomaniacal license plates. “Just yesterday I was behind a plate that said ‘2GOOD4U. ‘ I can ‘t tell you what that did to me. I went into an absolute rage because no he wasn ‘t, y ‘know? To me, that ‘s the real danger. ‘
The new cell phone law presents an incredibly low risk for those who break it. A first-time offense is just a $20 fine with no points added to an offender ‘s driving record, and text messaging and emailing is still perfectly legal while driving. Having a license plate that says “1WTHGOD ‘ on the other hand has no legal ramifications but could inspire very illegal action. “I automatically wish that person was dead, ‘ said UCLA student Ted Stolzman.
Full-time mother Linda Wertzler believes vanity plates are a huge safety issue for her family. “Please, with three kids in my car at all times I ‘m thrilled about the cell phone business. But, I don ‘t see how I can drive my kids to school behind someone with the plate IMBLIZT or TRPNBLZ and feel comfortable. ‘
Oddly, those with vanity plates are the most opposed to the new cell phone law. 48 year-old Linda Hedley aka “SXYGRL ‘ was quite angry. “I ‘m not changing my lifestyle. I ‘m in the middle of an awful divorce and have constant calls to my lawyer and my boyfriend. If I got pulled over, I would just plead emergency cell phone rights. ‘ When told there was no such thing as emergency rights, she said, “Then I plead Bill of Rights. ‘